i1 Supercar Series set to unveil drivers and car in Abu Dhabi

The much awaited i1 Supercar Series confirmed that it will host its first ever pre-season test on December 20th at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. This test at the famed F1 venue will also see the unveiling of the drivers, both international and local, who will participate in the first season of the motorsport league.

As a prelude to the racing league, set to take center stage with its first race in January 2012, the drivers will get a chance to test the Radical SR3, the single make car being used for the series. The curiosity around who would be the drivers for the series would finally be quelled with Darshan M, CEO, i1 Supercar Series announcing theimpressive driver line-up on Monday, 19th December.

Being held at the popular Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, the pre-season test would be the first time the drivers would get their hands on the powerful Radical SR3 car, noted for its speed and safety features. Darshan M, CEO, Machdar Motorsports said, “We are delighted to finally get down to business and let all the action do the talking.

We will unveil all the drivers at Abu Dhabi and would like to confirm that we have some great names associated with the series. This is the first time that the drivers get their hands on the Radical SR3 so we are hoping they share the same enthusiasm as we do.”

The i1 Supercar Series, which is committed to developing motorsport in the country, is keen to give the youngsters a chance to shine on an international platform. The young Indian drivers confirmed for the test include Aditya Patel, Vishnu Prasad, Amrittajit Ghosh, Parth Ghorpade and Chirag Malhotra amongst others would be given a chance to prove themselves in the series. This will be the only time the drivers would get an opportunity to drive the Radical SR3 before the series takes off in January.

Darshan added, “We have always believed in promoting Indian driving talent and this series will give them international exposure.

The pre-season test would give an opportunity for the young Indian talent to gain a lot of experience from some of the world’s finest drivers. We are very excited about the new series and are confident this series would be a huge success with both Indian and International audiences. ”

About i1 series:

i1 Supercar Series is the all new motorsport racing league promoted by Machdar Motorsports. The i1 Supercar Series will consist of 10 races with 9 teams representing different Indian cities. The inaugural i1 Supercar Series season will begin in January 2012 and be held in India, UAE, Malaysia, Bahrain and Qatar.

 The teams will race the Radical SR3 roadster in the Series. Each team will be represented by three drivers. At least one driver for each team must be driver of Indian origin. Teams and drivers will compete for a total prize packet of USD 2 Million.